Alumni Honours and Awards

Alumni Honours and Awards McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill News
ALUMNI QUARTERLY - winter 2008
McGill News cover

| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger
Home > McGill News > 2003 > Summer 2003 > Alumni Honours and Awards

Alumni Honours and Awards

Just when you thought it was safe to go back to the St. James's Club, along comes another McGill Alumni Association Honours and Awards Banquet. They came from far and wide for an evening of good food and good fun. But mostly they came to honour some of the best volunteers of the year among McGill graduates, friends, faculty and staff. After the bagpipes had led everyone into the dining hall and the salmon and cake had been devoured, Alumni Association President Kip Cobbett gently roasted the award winners as he introduced them in the presentation ceremony. Everyone had a fine time, and the News is pleased to offer warm congratulations to all award winners and to thank all McGill volunteers.

Award winners

Award of Merit: James A. Robb, BA'51, BCL'54

E.P. Taylor Award: William Harker, BEng'62

The David Johnston: Award John Gruzleski

Distinguished Service Awards: Judith Taylor Mappin, BSc'50, Robert Winsor, BEng'62, Anelia Wright, DipPT'57, BSc(P&OT)'58

Honorary Life Memberships: Lynn Bookalam, Alan Shaver

Lorne Gales Award: Medicine Class of 1952

Charles Peters Branch of the Year Award: McGill Alumni Association of Calgary

President of the Year: Frances Fleming Ross, BA'68, MEd'72, President, McGill Alumni Association of Ottawa, Dominique Groulx, BA'95, Vice-President, Ottawa Young Alumni

Gretta Chambers Student Leadership Awards: Sarah Ali-Khan, PhD'04, Alexandra Conliffe, BEng'04, Martin Doe, BSc'04, Katy McLoughlin, BMus'02, MMus'04

Event of the Year: Award Hockey Night in Atlanta

Special Event Award: Gala Concert in Honour of Principal Emeritus Bernard Shapiro by Ben Heppner

A table of some of the distinguished guests and award winners attending the banquet. Front row: Judith Taylor Mappin, BSc'50, Vice-Principal (Development and Alumni Relations) Nancy Wells, Francesco Bellini, Michele Beckerleg, BA'68, John Mappin, BCom'50, MA'68. Back row: James Beckerleg, BSc'69, Marisa Bellini, Dean of Science Alan Shaver, Charles Mappin, MUP'95, Carole Kleingrib, BA'71.

Student award winner Katy McLoughlin, BMus'02, strolls up to the podium to accept her Gretta Chambers Student Leadership award.

Dominique Groulx, BA'95 (left), and Fran Ross, BA'68, MEd'72 (far right), receive their awards for President of the Year from Morna Flood Consedine, MEd'77, DEd'85, Vice-President of the McGill Alumni Association Board of Directors.

Engineers were out in full force for the evening, in part to honour William Harker, BEng'62 (back row, far right), for his work raising $250,000 from the Engineering Class of 1962 for a high-tech, intelligent classroom in the new Lorne Trottier Building.

Professor of Education Phyllis Shapiro, DipEd'56, has a laugh during the awards ceremony.

Ian Pilarczyk, BA'92, LLM'97, Melissa Knock, BMus'95, student award winner Alex Conliffe, BEng'04, and Development Officer for Engineering Terry Tobin.

Executive Director of Alumni Relations/ Advancement, Honora Shaughnessy, MLS'73, presents a Student Leadership award to star McGill athlete Sarah Ali-Khan, PhD'04.

Jim Robb, BA'51, BCL'54, his family and guests pose with the Award of Merit, the Alumni Association's highest honour.

Principal Emeritus Bernard Shapiro, BA'56, LLD'88, presents the David Johnston Award to Dean of Engineering John Gruzleski.

Athletics head therapist Lynn Bookalam receives an Honorary Life Membership from former Alumni Association president Sally McDougall, BSc'68, DipEd'69.

view sidebar content | back to top of page